





## RESOLUTION

**WHEREAS**, the first COVID-19 case was diagnosed in El Paso County on March 13, 2020; and,

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, a Declaration of Local Disaster was issued to allow El Paso to take measures to reduce the possibility of exposure to COVID-19 and to promote the health and safety of El Paso County residents; and,

WHEREAS, many lives have been lost and even greater numbers have been impacted by COVID-19 and these impacts are growing daily with concern for future waves until broadreaching treatments and/or a vaccine are available; and,

WHEREAS, El Paso must transition from emergency response to a state of preparedness through an evidence-based plan that prioritizes the health of all El Pasoans; and,

WHEREAS, a united Task Force is needed to research, create, advance, and present a comprehensive plan based on medical research, other reopening plans, and our local data for City and County Officials that will take into consideration the specific medical needs and susceptibility of our population, keep our community safe, and allow El Paso businesses to reopen and families to reunite; and,

WHEREAS, this united Task Force will be composed of health experts, including infectious diseases, hospital leaders, epidemiologists, and other medical professionals, emergency management/public health professionals, and elected officials (one from the City of El Paso and one from El Paso County); and,

WHEREAS, these individuals will be entrusted to create a plan to inform public policy and response in the transition from emergency to prepared operations in a collaborative and compassionate manner which prioritizes the overall well-being of the community and recognizes the interwoven relationship between public health and economic prosperity; and,

WHEREAS, the plan will address areas such as testing capacity, contact tracing, important data and other triggers that should guide public policy steps, supply chain monitoring, hospital capacity, public education and outreach, risk assessment, and overall public health preparedness; and,

WHEREAS, there are many interested stakeholders, other advisors/experts, and staff who will be called upon by the Task Force to provide invaluable input and support; and,

WHEREAS, the plan will help guide leadership of the City of El Paso and El Paso County as we allocate resources and formulate plans for the future health and prosperity of our community and to prepare for the future of public health in our region; and,

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the El Paso County Judge and Commissioners that

- 1. The "El Paso United COVID-19 Transition Task Force" is hereby established to draft a comprehensive strategy for the path forward in the COVID-19 pandemic; and,
- 2. The Task Force will rely on science-based research, verifiable data, and best practices to specifically address and formulate recommendations for expanded testing, resource capacity, surveillance, and preparedness of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and future public health in our region; and,
- 3. The comprehensive strategy will provide adequate specificity to inform and guide policy decisions related to the community's transition from emergency response to ongoing enhanced medical response to the COVID-19 pandemic; and,
- 4. The task force will report progress, updates and milestones to the Commissioners Court weekly or as requested by the Commissioners Court and will ensure that information is shared as uniformly and simultaneously with the County Judge and the Mayor of El Paso; and,
- 5. The task force shall at all times be comprised of a majority of medical experts, healthcare workers or public health professionals; and,
- 6. The Task Force shall at all times be co-chaired by a medical doctor with board certification in infectious disease by the American Board of Internal Medicine with the founding co-chair being Dr. Ogechika Alozie, MD and the City-County Medical Health Authority with the founding co-chair being Dr. Hector Ocaranza, MD.

## Signed this 18th day of May, 2020

Commissioner Carlos Leon, Pct. 1

Commissioner Vincent M Perez, Pct. 3

1 11

Commissioner David Stout, Pct. 2

Commissioner Carl Robinson, Pct. 4

Ricardo A. Samaniego, County Judge